Lost your password?
Don't have an account? Sign Up
Strade Bianche

Strade Bianche 2022: preview, route, schedule, live streaming

The taste and dust of the “Strade Bianche” are about to invade the noses and hearts of cycling fans today, but not only. Here there is everything you need to know.

Strade Bianche 2022 route, preview, schedule

The Strade Bianche 2022 will take place on Saturday 5 March and it will be the 16th edition of the cycling race. It starts and finishes in Siena after a route of 184 kilometres for men and 134 for women, in an amazing set from a historical, landscape, cultural, natural and enogastronomic point of view.

The peculiarity of the race, which gives it its name, is that within the tour of the Sienese hills there are 11 sectors of “white roads”, i.e. dirt roads. Rather than the riders, it is the motorbikes in front of them that raise a fuss, within which the cyclists disappear and then reappear with an air of legend that gives the race a unique and special aspect.

So far, the race’s roll of honor includes just one Italian victory, Moreno Moser in 2013, while Swiss rider Fabian Cancellara has won it three times and in 2019 Frenchman Julian Alaphilippe won, later becoming World Champion in 2020 and 2021, further proof that only top-level athletes win the Strade Bianche.

In its tour “around the hills of Siena” the cyclists – who start from the Fortezza di Siena and arrive in Piazza del Campo, a unique place in the world – pass through some of the most beautiful places in Tuscany and Italy: 

Sociville, the village with the largest number of parish churches and abbeys in Tuscany; Monteroni d’Arbia, along which the entire territory passes the Via Francigena; Murlo, whose inhabitants are the most direct ancestors of the Etruscans; Buonconvento, which is still medieval; Montalcino, a delightful village and land of perhaps the most famous wine in the world, Brunello (but Rosso d Montalcino is also a superior quality wine); San Quirico d’Orcia, a world heritage site with the Horti Leonini; Pienza, another UNESCO World Heritage site and the birthplace of Pope Pius II, Enea Silvio Piccolomini, one of the most important Renaissance pontiffs, also for his humanistic gifts as well as his role as pastor of souls and politician. 

Then there is Asciano, a treasure trove of art, and Castelnuovo Berardenga, remembered above all for the battle of Montaperti, the place wherein 1260 Siena defeated Florence and its allies who wanted to regain control of some territories. The battle was so bloody that, according to the chronicles, the surrounding rivers were stained with blood and Dante wrote about the same battle in the 10th canto of the Inferno when he met Farinata degli Uberti and Boca degli Abati. But also in the 11th canto of Purgatory.

How can I watch Strade Bianche 2022?

The Strade Bianche 2022 is set to start at 11:45 am local time (05:45 in NY City) and will be streamed by Eurosport and GCN, which are subscription-based services (both men’s and women’s race live and on-demand).

In Italy, it will be possible to watch the race with Rai Sport e RaiSport + HD (14:30), Eurosport 1 (13:30), while in live streaming with Discovery+ and Eurosport Player.

Strade Bianche, winners and records

Fabian Cancellara has the record for most Strade Bianche wins. The Swiss rider won three times: 2008, 2012, and 2016. In the second place, there is polish Michal Kwiatkowski, who won two times in 2014 and 2017.

Here are the winners year by year:
2007: Alexandr Kolobnev (Russia), Team CSC
2008: Fabian Cancellara (Switzerland), Team CSC
2009: Thomas Lofkvist (Sweden), Team Columbia-High Road
2010: Maxim Iglinsky (Kazakhstan), Astana
2011: Philippe Gilbert (Belgium), Omega Pharma-Lotto
2012: Fabian Cancellara (Switzerland), RadioShack-Nissan
2013: Moreno Moser (Italy), Cannondale
2014: Michal Kwiatkowski (Poland), Omega Pharma-Quick-Step
2015: Zdenek Stybar (Czech Republic), Etixx-Quick-Step
2016: Fabian Cancellara (Switzerland), Trek-Segafredo
2017: Michal Kwiatkowski (Poland), Team Sky
2018: Tiesj Benoot (Belgium), Lotto-Soudal
2019: Julian Alaphilippe (France), Deceuninck-Quick-Step
2020: Wout Van Aert (Belgium), Team Jumbo-Visma
2021: Mathieu Van Der Poel (Netherlands), Alpecin-Fenix